Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Chain waxing
 Goto page 1, 2  Next

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
RCoapman

8/12/23 1:42 PM

Chain waxing

Anyone do it? I've currently got the new SRAM chain soaking in the crockpot. Heard good things but this will be the first time trying it.

Reply to topic    

Sparky

8/12/23 2:10 PM

meh... ;)

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

RCoapman

8/13/23 8:34 AM

Thanks for the thoughtful and insightful reply :P

Reply to topic    

Sparky

8/13/23 8:58 AM

To me, this is like vaping and no sock wearing... no sock wearing.... dunno how to say that with out breaking Thumper doctrine.

You got thick skin as I recall.

I've been using Dumonde Tech for like 10 years. Yellow for cold, blue for warm. If I go to put it on and the RD pulleys have cake, I get a rag and a stick and remove cake, then put on more Dumonde.

I will say this, it stinks. I put it on after I take bike outta the van...

Here: read this thread maybe... And put some socks on! ;)

https://forums.thepaceline.net/showpost.php?p=3241134&postcount=1

RCoapman

8/13/23 9:18 AM

Oh, I'm not doing it for the watts. If there is a measurable difference I'm sure that's only going to be in the lab and would be completely muted by environmental variables on the road. I just like the idea of a cleaner chain without all the gunk on it. Dunking it in a wax bath every 2 weeks seems a low price to pay. $20 for a dedicated crock pot and about the same for some wax that will likely last a long time.

But yeah, I don't wear the tall socks on training rides because cycling tan lines are already bad but I definitely have a couple pair for events.

Reply to topic    

Sparky

8/13/23 11:42 AM

I do have a pickup potting rig. I use paraffin and beeswax to make electric guitar pickups less subject to feedback when played with lots of gain. I guess a little chain residual in the was shouldn't hurt.