HOMECLUBS | SPONSORS | FEATURESPHOTO GALLERYTTF DONORS | SHOP FOR GEAR

Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Sad news about Steve Hed

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
greglepore

11/26/14 6:45 PM

Sad news about Steve Hed

http://www.bikerumor.com/2014/11/26/steve-hed-pioneer-of-the-aero-carbon-wheel-has-passed-away/

RIP, a true pioneer.

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

LeeW

11/26/14 7:53 PM

Very sad. Another soul who never made it to retirement.

I got to meet him in 2000 as he had a booth at a gear expo held in Minnesoota that I happened to attend. Interesting self-taught type of guy who would take time to chat with anyone.

Someone on this forum used to know him. Might have been P Datars, but I'm not certain I got that right ??

Reply to topic    

greglepore

11/27/14 6:56 AM

Yes, he and Paul spent quite a bit of wind tunnel time together.

Dave B

11/27/14 7:35 AM

This morning's Bike Rumor has a follow up on yesterday's announcement. It has a statement from the company with an interesting biography of Steve.

sandiway

11/27/14 8:52 AM

He certainly had a big impact on the industry.

Maybe different later but earlier HED was not easy to deal with and had poor quality control. Like some other wheel companies around that time. Marketed hard but didn't always deliver. Maybe that comes with being a pioneer.

Reply to topic    

Brian Nystrom

11/29/14 1:40 PM

I'm sure that your last sentence is true

Someone has to pave the way for others and there's bound to be considerable trial and error involved. His death is a real shame and a significant loss to the industry.

Reply to topic    

Sparky

11/29/14 2:10 PM

Pioneer at the customer's expense?

I seem to recall Sandiway cringes at the mention of the word ALPS. I am sorry to say/remember...

Brian Nystrom

11/29/14 8:57 PM

Stuff happens