Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Computrainer?
 Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dan emery

10/15/14 5:39 AM

Computrainer?

Any relatively heavy Computrainer users out there? I generally don't ride much indoors, but I'm contemplating a difficult ride in April, and to take a decent shot at that I will need a lot of time on the bike over the winter, and while I commute through the winter I will also need some serious time indoors.

I have an old LeMond Revmaster stationary bike which has its limitations, and am thinking of upgrading to a Computrainer (not a data guy at all, but the data and graphics may serve as a diversion/game that will keep me on the bike longer). Do people like these? Any problems? What type of monitor do you use? Any advantage to the fork mount?

I think the ultimately cool trainer is the Velotron, but the price tag ain't so cool.

TIA

Reply to topic    

henoch

10/15/14 6:21 AM

I had one for a few years, they are absolutely bomb proof fantastic pieces of hardware, will most definitely help you stay on the trainer much longer then a regular trainer.
I can't see much need for the fork mount, though I am sure that it has some reason.
There is some new competition that has come out the last few years that has newer, better software with more bells and whistles, but I still think that computrainer makes the best hardware bar none.

Last edited by henoch on 10/15/14 9:41 AM; edited 1 time in total

Reply to topic    

greglepore

10/15/14 6:35 AM

Dan-I've set up two video trainer systems, one for a friend and I've had one for a while. Mine is CT based, his uses the new Wahoo Kickr, which I think is superior,with one exception, as it is direct drive (no tire slip). A Kickr is around a grand, a used CT 600-800 on ebay.