Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

29'er as gravel grinder?
 Goto page 1, 2  Next

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
April

9/2/14 2:11 PM

29'er as gravel grinder?

When I started riding D2R2 7-8 years ago, there were few cyclecross bikes. Most people are either on mountain bike with knobby or semi-slick tires. Or they're on touring frame with 28-35 slick road tires.

The next few years, I saw fewer and fewer mtn bikes and more cyclecross bikes.

But the last 2-3 years, I started to see increasing number of mountain bikes again. Upon close inspection, most of them are 29'ers. Majority of riders use knobby tires, though I saw quite a few narrow width knobbies. They seem to be keeping up pretty well.

So let's see what 29'ers are good at and not so good at.

The way I see it:

- disc brake come standard
- 29" wheel rolls just as well as 700C if sporting similar rubber.
- light weight, locked-out forks add a little weight but not a huge penalty any more. Dosen't impact pedal efficiency as bad as older designs.
- many of the 2x10 drivetrains offers good range of gear for the terrain. Often better at the low speed climbing end, if not quite as good at the high speed end.
- While slower on pavement and easy (flat) terrain, there aren't that much of such terrain on D2R2.

What do you all think?

This is just random musing, for a techtalk forum...

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

Dave B

9/2/14 2:53 PM

quote:
... 29" wheel rolls just as well as 700C if sporting similar rubber.

They should. They are the same size.

Sparky

9/2/14 2:58 PM

IMO maybe a disc CX or rigid 29er for folks over 5-9" or so. Although the 29er BB will be a touch high for optimum. Seem like CX bike are now a lot higher BB these days. Grinding no need for that, but plenty benefit of having a low BB, again IMO.